Food and ‘Purpose’

Hello All!  Sorry it’s been a while since my last post.  I could give you 1000 excuses for not posting, but really there’s just one. The content in which I have posted previously hasn’t pleased everyone.  I know, I know… If I can’t handle criticism I probably shouldn’t have a public blog.  Something I have been debating for several weeks now!! Well, I have decided that I can!!  I can handle it, and I won’t quit doing something I really enjoy because of it.  I really just want to reiterate AGAIN…  This is MY personal blog.  Although I may post pics of my children and some family, this is really just for me, from my point of view.  My way of sharing what I want to, when I want to.

So, now that that’s all taken care of, let’s move on.

When I told a good friend of mine that I was finally going to write another blog post, after complete shock I’m sure ;), she asked what was on my mind.  I told her, food and ‘my word’ (Purpose).

Why Food?? Because I am learning more and more about it.  I took a class about Nutritian and Migraines earlier this year to help me understand what I can do to help prevent them.  Something that I’ve been battling for over a year now.  And other than getting one the very next day (they’re usually triggered a few days before you get one), I haven’t had a single one!!  Yay!  It is such a blessing to know that if I control what I put in my body, and in my case mainly eating enough, then I can keep my migraines under control.

So with that knowledge, I wanted to learn more!  I have spent countless hours on the computer reading blogs and studies about all kinds of food and how it affects our health. I have several books downloaded to start reading… I will let you know when I’m done if I would recommend them to you.  All I can say at this moment is that there are going to be some changes in what our family eats.  I’ve always thought that since we rarely eat out and usually eat home-cooked meals, that we were doing pretty darn good.  I have been very mistaken.  I wish that I would have cared to learn more before we had kids… it is going to be a steep, uphill battle.  But, maybe teaching them now, they’ll not be 32 yrs. old trying to figure it out.

Now usually when I decide I want to do something, I go at it 100%, then sometimes fail.  I don’t think that type of approach is going to work for this.  It’s going to take time for habits to change and to get rid of all of the food we already have in the pantry.  (I have a problem throwing it away.)  So we are going to eat it and maybe donate some.  Then we’ll take it one step at time… ok, maybe a few steps at a time.

Here’s where we’re starting:

1. We are not going to replace the snacks in the house with the same things.  We always have easy to grab snacks for school lunches and at home.  Currently we’ve got little snack bags of Ritz Cracker Sandwiches, Teddy Grahams and Oreos.  We also have Goldfish Crackers, Granola Bars, Rice Crispies, and Fruit Snacks.  Now looking at it typed out, I kind of feel like a crappy mom… but they all like different things and usually only have one a day, along with many other healthy foods. And as much as they all enjoy these snacks, they honestly get more excited about a bunch of raw veggies with ranch dip.  So why in the world do I keep buying all of these highly processed, sugar filled snacks??? Because they’re EASY and CONVENIENT!  Only healthy snacks will be kept in this house very soon!

2.  When buying meat, I will no longer buy the cheapest I can find.  We can’t afford organic all the time, but we can buy chicken without added hormones and other meats that are less processed.  The hubby has found a local butcher he really likes, so he may be getting more of our business very soon.

3. Overall, when shopping, I will be looking for less processed foods.  Hoping to at least be able to pronounce all of the listed ingredients.

Sounds like a good place to start! 😉

Now about my word… I think these changes could be part of living this life with ‘purpose’.  I want to purposefully choose the things that our family ingests, at least where I can.  (They are completely overloaded with sugar at school for one reason or another!!  That’s another post!)  Instead of choosing what’s easiest and most convenient, I want to make choices based on what’s best for our health and well being.

Anyways… that’s what is on my mind today. 🙂

I made this flavored water.  Inspired from another recipe I saw on Pinterest.

Lemon/Cucumber Water

Ingredients:

Water, thinly sliced lemon and cucumber.

Directions:

Slice the Lemon and Cucumber, add it to a pitcher of water, and refrigerate.

IMG_1739 IMG_1740 IMG_1741

Simple!!!

The recipe I found also had mint leaves in it. You can find it here.  She explains all of the health benefits of it.  I really just wanted something with some flavor to drink, and this seemed like a good start.  It’s very refreshing!  I may add some strawberries next time.

XOXO,

TA

2 thoughts on “Food and ‘Purpose’

  1. Yay for you guys!! What a great mom you are. One of the best gifts we can give our children is a healthy start in life and good nutrition and educating them about it is such a core piece of that. Have a beautiful day TA! 🙂

    1. Awe, thanks Katie! It’s something that’s becoming very important to me. However, it’s a little overwhelming. 😉 I think about you guys often, wondering how things are going. If I make it back to town this summer, I would love to get together!

Leave a Reply

