Mini Vacation

We spent last weekend in Denver with my parents.   Our house to their’s is 10 1/2 hours, so it is about half way.  I haven’t seen them since we drove through on our way moving to NM in August.  It may have been the longest we’ve ever gone…  And even still, it doesn’t feel like it.  It could be that I talk to my mom almost daily (multiple times somedays), and my dad at least once a week.  It’s like that phone commercial… We don’t call to say “how’s life going”, we call to ask “how was your day”.  Anyways, it was a much needed visit.  And it’s always nice to get away.  Have someone else make your dinner and do the dishes, and make your bed.

Here’s our weekend in photos…

IMG_1390

While waiting for my parents, we entertained ourselves in the pet store.  This cutie was a Standard Poodle/Old English Sheepdog mix.  Had we not put her back when we did, she would have come home with us.

IMG_1392

And there they are!!  The kids were so excited to see Kiki and Papa!! (And me too!)

P1120196

We started with lunch at the Cheesecake Factory.  My main requirement for the trip!

P1120202

P1120201

Baylee got Chrissa’s ears pierced at the American Girl store and got to check out the new Girl of the Year, who is from Albuquerque.

IMG_1402 IMG_1396

Then it was Garner’s turn at the Lego store!  He got to fill up a cup with miscellaneous legos from ‘the wall’ and he built 3 of his own lego people. He had so much fun, but it is quite possible that I enjoyed it even more than he did.  We will be going back this summer.

After dinner, the kids were really excited to go swimming.  So were Drew and Papa… until they got in and realized the heated pool was freezing!!

IMG_1406 IMG_1405

I have the cutest video of Reese jumping in and telling Papa to scoot back, but apparently I can’t upload it on here.  She is fearless!  These pics are not the best quality, but still a highlight of the trip.

Day 2 consisted of IKEA and the outlet mall.  The kids were troopers!!  All the candy they got to eat could’ve had something to do with that.

It was the first time in an IKEA for all of us except Drew.  It was awesome!  So much so that I was completely overwhelmed by the time we got done.  I will have a list when I go back through this summer though.  One thing it did is just solidify the fact that I want to live in a smaller place, a little more modern, but still with a great kitchen.

IMG_1415

kids trying out a bed at IKEA watching hockey.

After all of our shopping, we went back to the Cheesecake Factory for dinner!!  YUM!!  It’s a very large menu… I think you could eat there for 2 months and never eat the same thing twice.

IMG_1417

We wore Reese out.  She slept up until dinner came.

P1120205

We took dessert back to the hotel. I’m not a fan of Cheesecake… but that Linda’s Fudge Cake on the right, that’s a different story.

The next morning, it was time to say our goodbyes and head home.

P1120207

Reese loves her Papa!

Then after a few short stops and 5 1/2 hours of driving, we were home.

I’m so glad we were able to work it out.  It was so, so much fun!!  We’re already looking forward to seeing them again in March!!  It’s my mom’s Spring Break, so they’re coming to check out where we live.  So excited!!  Hopefully it will warm up by then.  I’m really itching to get outside!!

I started something yesterday. Something very challenging, for me.  I will write about it next.

XOXO,

TA

Leave a Reply

