My word

One Little Word for 2013

“A single word can be a catalyst for enriching your life…”

“It can be something tangible or intangible. It could be a thought or a feeling or an emotion. It can be singular or plural. The key is to find something that has personal meaning for you. This is not your mother’s word or your spouse’s word or your child’s word – this is YOUR word.”

~Ali Edwards

I had heard of this before, and never really understood what it meant.  I didn’t know what to do with it.

Last year I had a weird feeling when the New Year rang in.  I was sitting with my mom and Drew working on my planner for the coming year, watching the ball drop on TV.    The fireworks we could see out the window were meant to symbolize the celebration of the New Year and for many a fresh start.  So many of you were excited for this, and had your New Year’s Resolutions all ready to go.  For me I felt a sense of dread.  I didn’t know why, but I knew that it wasn’t what I wanted to or should be feeling at that moment.

It took me a while to just simply digest this feeling.  I am usually very optimistic and excited for the coming adventures that a new year has to offer.  So after a lot of thought and prayer I realized that the constant changes in our family were really starting to get to me.  We had moved to a new place, Drew was traveling all the time and apparently I wasn’t adjusting as well as I thought I was.  I knew that our current situation wasn’t long-term, and that there was a very big possibility that we would be moving again within the year.

I felt like our life had become a giant roller coaster ride.  Not that the ups and downs necessarily meant good and bad, but more so represented the constant changes.  So that is where my word derived from… “Ride”

roller-coaster-coasterimage

I was going to choose to Ride this roller coaster of life.  Whatever life threw at us, I was choosing to handle it with grace. It was either that or go crazy and not be the wife, mother, daughter or friend that I want to be.  It didn’t come easy at times, but ultimately it was the right word for me this past year.

For the past few weeks, I have been listening… waiting for my word.  And it’s something that I’ve actually thought about off and on for the past few months.  Not that it was going to be my word, but how I want to live my life everyday.  It seems like I live a lot of days like I’m just trying to get through it.  Get all of the chores done, the children taken care of, spend time with my husband, etc.  I haven’t been enjoying the moments that ultimately are the most important.  I have a lot of things going on in this crazy brain of mine that I want to change and/or do this year.  So I have chosen to live this year with…

purpose

My word!!

I will write more on what this is going to mean for me soon.  I am still trying to figure it out myself.

Do any of you choose a word for your year?  What is it?  Please Share.

XOXO,

TA

Leave a Reply

