Christmas Countdown- Day 14 & 15

Day 14:

December 14, 2012, a day that most of this country will never forget.  My stomach was just in knots over the news of the CT school shooting.  I’ve been trying to find the words to explain my feelings about this, and I still just can’t seem to put them together.  Maybe at some point in the future.  Most importantly though, my thoughts and prayers are with everyone that has been affected by this tragedy.

I almost felt guilty about continuing on with our plan for the evening, but I’m so glad we did.
P1120061

Garner and Baylee got to go to a movie night at their school, Reese went to a friends house for a little bit, and Drew and I got to go out to dinner… just the 2 of us.  This was my 2nd Day of Christmas gift to Drew.  It was a good night for all of us.  And a big thank you to my friend Shari for keeping Reese for me, so we could go.  And since we weren’t all together, I didn’t get any pics of the evening.

It was an emotional day, but it ended on a good note for us.  And it’s possible my kids may have gotten several more hugs and kisses than they usually do.

Day 15:

No card for today…

We totally scratched the plan for this day… after such an emotional day on Friday, I just wanted a low key day at home with my husband and children.  So that’s exactly what we did.  We worked a puzzle together, hung out and played, I made more toffee, and then we finished the evening with a couple of crafts.  It was exactly what we all needed!!  Here’s a few pics from our day.

P1120055

P1120056

P1120058

After the kids went to bed, Drew and I got caught up on some shows on the DVR while I got some wrapping done.  Then we hid penguins in the tree for the kids to find in the morning.

P1120059

Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend!!

XOXO,

TA

Leave a Reply

